top of page

How To Read Literature Like a Professor (Chapters 6-10)

Chapter 6

There have been many works of literature that have reflected Romeo and Juliet, but a familiar one for me is The Coffin Quilt. The Coffin Quilt is a portrayal of the love story between Johnse Hatfield and Roseanna McCoy. The two are so in love, but as our history tells they can not be together due to their families feud as did Romeo and Juliet. Though The Hatfield's & McCoy's are an actual part of history and not just a sonnet written by a famous writer, everyone has twisted and turned the feud into their own version of Romeo and Juliet. In the end they do not both commit suicide, but both die; Jonse by a bullet and Roseanna by an illness. For not blatantly coming out and mentioning Romeo and Juliet, the two stories have a lot in common.

Chapter 7

The Bible is connected to almost literary work and move that has been written, read or watched. For instance, in almost every Disney move that has been made there has be a "Greater Being" that can be construe as God, and an evil presence that resembles the devil, as in Aladdin. Micah 6:8 says to "To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God," Aladdin did just that when he choose to keep his promise to set Genie free instead of being with Jasmine. It is the act of selflessness that is talked about in The Bible and shown in Aladdin that connects the two. Another example alluded to The Bible would be in Bruce Almighty. This movie is a comedic version of the destruction of the Earth. The Bible is subtly alluded when Bruce splits a can of tomato soup as Moses did the Red Sea. Another can be found in the dreaded television series Lost, that my step dad made me watch. After the character Juliet murders Danny and her life is spare, she is "marked" just as Cain was marked after killing Abel.

Chapter 8

Fairy tales are also used in the pull of information a writer uses when writing a story. When C.S. Lewis wrote The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, he played off of Alice in Wonderland by creating the wardrobe that leads to an alternative universe. In both works the hero accidently finds his way into the world by accident. They are thrust into a war and must defeat the evil queen, both Alice and Peter are successful in that. Lewis' depiction of Alice in Wonderland deepens the appreciation that the world has for it by giving a new twist that is more appealing to a wider range of audience.

Chapter 9

My Adonis

I looked into your eyes and I was lost,

One green, one blue,

they looked right into my soul.

You drew me in and caught me up,

until I was yours to manipulate.

I can still envision you on the roof that night,

your perfect hair, the outline of your shirtless body,

those yellow smiley face shorts

and the way you puffed that cigarette.

I fell for the sparkle in you eye,

but your smile kept me coming back for more.

From when I first felt your touch,

it took my breath away,

so soft, so subtle, it left me begging for more.

That night on the roof you asked me to be yours,

I said yes and you cried.

You were my Adonis.

Adonis, God of love and desire,

And yes I did desire you.

But you're gone now, my Adonis,

back to your far off home.

And I'm left here waiting til next year when I can be yours again.

You were my Adonis,

and My Adonis you will forever be.

Chater 10

Weather plays a huge part in setting the mood on any work of literature with each element representing a different form. In and the novel Twilight, the Cullens invite Bella to play a game of baseball during a thunder storm. The family are having a ball under the cracking thunder, which in very ominous to me because usually during a thunderstorm something bad is going to happen. Well anyway, the assumption is proved right when three vampires come and begin to swarm Bella. The ominous thunder predicted the bad events to come. Later in Twilight, in Arizona, it is raining when Bella's is tricked into believing that her mother in captured and we get to witness an amazing vampire battle. The weather was a signal in that as well.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page